Flower of Scotland

Lynne Jackaman – Live at The Classic Grand, Glasgow

Little prepares you for the magical experience that is Lynne Jackaman in a live setting.

Prior to this debut solo tour(supporting the Dead Daisies and The Answer), Lynne promised a set that would be, in her own words, “very soulful, very gospel, very raw and it will very me.” It was all that and so much more. An exhilarating experience, in fact.

Lynne aired three new songs: ‘Nobody’s Fault But Mine’, ‘Sooner or Later’ and ‘I’ll Allow You’, and closed  with a spine-tingling version of the Blind Faith classic ‘Can’t Find My Way Home’.

lynne-glasgow-2

Familiar material was also given a showing, as Lynne explains:

“I played three of ‘No Halo’ – Cant’ Take Back, Wasted and the title track, No Halo. I did three acoustic new ones, which I have been trying out in this format.”

Jackaman has a strong, confident stage presence that delivers powerful, soulful, self-penned material. In Glasgow, she summoned seemingly endless reserves of energy for each song, delivered with seismic intensity. Rocking back and forth, every fibre of her body caught in the moment.

One can see why she is attracting an ever-expanding fan base. She walked on stage, sang seven songs, and twenty minutes later exited stage right with rapturous applause ringing in her ears. Job done.

Accompanied by the highly accomplished Danny Page on acoustic guitar, she stole the show.

To her immense credit, Lynne also makes a point of mingling with her fans after her moment in the spotlight. She greets you as if she’s just bumped into a long-lost friend. Chatty, engaging, she shakes hands and poses for pictures.

I meet Joe from Belfast, a devoted fan who has traveled to numerous Jackaman concerts. Lynne gives him a big hug and thanks him for his support.

After her twenty-minute set, she ushers me backstage to the salubrious surroundings of The Answer’s dressing room. What was her reaction to the reception she received from the Glasgow crowd, I ask:

“Fantastic, the fact that I got the crowd clapping and singing was just superb. It was like a homecoming. I love playing in Scotland. She is equally gushing in her praise of the previous night’s crowd at the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen:

“It was wonderful, there was a lot of nerves, you have a lot of teething problems and challenges on the first night. I was expecting to come on and play to a quarter of a room if I was lucky, but it was rammed. I looked up, and after the first song there was this roar.”

Local media were enchanted too. A “petite powerhouse”, according to the Aberdeen Press and Journal

I ask her if the new material previewed on this tour is destined to appear on her next new release:

“Yes, definitely. There will be a release in the new year. I want to set everything up right. I’ve come this far and I’ve made lots of big choices and there are lots of wonderful things happening behind the scenes. Everything is going in the right direction and I’m getting some good people on board now so I’ll see how it develops.”

lynne-glasgow

It’s a busy end of year for Lynne. First up is on December 4 she plays PlanetRockstock in Wales and then, on December 13, an appearance at the Timeout Rising Stars showcase in London’s 229 club.

As she reveals, she’s gearing up for next year:

“I am getting ducks in a row, I want to this right. I know that I’m doing, I’ve been in the business a while. I want to give myself the best platform to do it on.”

Visit Lynne’s website at Lynne Jackaman‘No Halo’ is available now from Amazon.

Photos: Lynne at the Classic Grand, Glasgow. Photo credit: Oliver Halfin

 

